Athlete Spotlight: Corinne M.

Corinne M.

Hometown: Chicago but now resides in Schaumburg

Age: 34

Occupation: CT Technologist

When did you first start CrossFitting? 5/2015

When did you first start training at CFC? 5/2015

Favorite WOD: CrossFit Total and Turkish Getups

Least Favorite WOD: Long distance Running and Rope Climbs

Tell us about your sports & fitness background. I played volleyball in high school and in college. I love everything about baseball! I’m that mom screaming on the sidelines cheering on my kid (Not the crazy one ;-))

How did you first get exposed to CrossFit? Take us back to your first WOD… what was it, and how did it feel?
After repeatedly telling my friend that I will not try CrossFit; I gave in after my big box gym closed. I was desperate to get back into something, so I reluctantly came in. Our first workout was Turkish Getups and I loved them from the very start. I started coming in 2x a week and became slightly obsessed with the feelings I would feel on my drive home, replaying the WOD, how I did, and what I was actually capable of. I guess before Caliber, I just figured I was a mom of 3 and I needed to be just a mom, a wife and a CT Technologist for the rest of my life. It wasn’t until something clicked one day and now I know that besides being a mom, a wife, and a hospital worker, I am now an athlete as well. I will continue to do this not only for myself but to be a role model for my kids so they see that anything is possible if you just put your mind to it!

What sort of changes have you seen in your body, health and fitness since starting CF? (before / after) I am more stronger than I ever thought I would be! I feel my body has become more solid but I’m still working on burning more fat. That is the eating part of it. I am more conscious of what I should eat vs. what I shouldn’t eat, but its hard to break old habits. Baby steps!

What sort of changes in your life have you experienced out of taking on something like CrossFit that were totally unexpected? I have more energy, I am able to run with my kids, and I’m willing to test my boundaries more than I ever imagined. I have decided to take the CF Trainer program and hope to incorporate CrossFit and Caliber more into my daily life.

Any advice for people just getting started? This is your journey, don’t compare yourself to anyone else. Do your best and the rest will fall in place! Caliber is a huge support system as well as being a box, use the support because we all started from the same place.

What are your hobbies, interests and/or talents outside of CrossFit? I am a wine and craft beer connoisseur. I love to crochet and sew.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s